Praise for American Rust

"John Steinbeck is alive and well today . . . and his name is Philipp Meyer"
—Geordie Williamson, chief literary critic, The Australian

“everything about this story seems essentially American…in the tradition that stretches from Ernest Hemingway to Cormac McCarthy. Meyer knows how to create heartbreakingly real female characters, too. [His] tone is less polemic than John Steinbeck's, but he's working on the same broad scale."
The Washington Post

"Meyer is already being compared with John Steinbeck, and with very good reason."
Esquire UK

"Do people still think in terms of the Great American Novel – a work of fiction that exactly captures the contemporary spirit of the union? If so, American Rust has GAN stamped all over it. In racing terms it’s by Of Mice and Men, out of Huckleberry Finn, ridden by Cormac McCarthy, and trained by Salinger and Kerouac. "
The Daily Telegraph (UK)

“the social detail and emotional verisimilitude of Richard Russo ... a keen, Salinger-esque empathy. American Rust announces the arrival of a gifted new writer."
—Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times

"The comparisons other reviewers have made to Steinbeck are unavoidable and in large part justified, as are those to Cormac McCarthy….uniformly brilliant."
The Times UK (Saturday Review Supplement) 

“remarkable…introduces a novelist worth celebrating and watching.”
USA Today, Bob Minzesheimer

"Like Upton Sinclair’s "The Jungle" and George Orwell’s "Down and Out in Paris and London," American Rust documents the psychological and moral tangle that comes with poverty… In stylistic terms, Meyer’s clipped, stream-of-consciousness narration brings to mind not only the modernists (Hemingway, Woolf, Joyce) but also Cormac McCarthy."
The Millions

"assured...crackles with narrative tension...masterfully painted."
The Economist

"a New Classic"
Tatler (UK)

"stunningly portrayed...a novel rich in scope and ambition."
The Guardian

“reminiscent of William Faulkner...Meyer knows more about the meaning of redemption than most other contemporary American novelists. He also knows how to write a compelling story.”
The Baltimore Sun

"This psychological novel about guilt and redemption has been compared to writers such as Steinbeck, Faulkner and Salinger. Flattering as that may be, the biggest recommendation about Meyer's work is that he sounds like no one, except himself. It is the unique sound of a surprising new American talent. Roest is a brilliant novel."
TROUW , The Netherlands

"Meyer punches in the same heavyweight division as John Steinbeck and Cormac McCarthy. He's that good."

"a novel which you finish feeling hopeful for the future. Because as long as American literature brings forth debut novels of this standing, we do not have to worry about the demise of the generation of post-war literary giants."
NRC, The Netherlands

"[a] skillful debut...both affecting and timely."
The New Yorker

"powerful insight...captivating...compelling."
The Observer (UK)

“Novelists spend entire careers trying to write even one classic book. Philipp Meyer has accomplished that feat on his first attempt. American Rust might one day be recognized as one of our great American novels.”
— The Dayton Daily News

"American Rust impresses...this is a new writer who clearly knows what he's doing."
The Times (London), Douglas Kennedy

"brilliant...a documentarist's eye for an uncertain, self-destructing world, the lyrical style to nail a friendship in a sentence and an almost effortless devotion to a page-turning story." 
Metro UK (five star review)

"a fine acheivement...moving between the panoramic and the personal with engaging confidence"
The Sunday Times UK

"A masterly hybrid of stream of consciousness prose and expertly paced, thrilling narrative."
The New Zealand Listener

"a bold, absorbing novel...moves deftly from the panoramic to the microscopic — from sweeping views of a dying valley to the quiet ruminations of a mind behind bars."
The New York Times Book Review (Lewis Robinson)

“a literary thriller…lives up to the hype.”
Austin American-Statesman

"a hardboiled debut that seems particularly apt during the financial crisis"
The Wall Street Journal

The New Statesman UK

“immediate and compelling, and signals the arrival of a new literary voice.”
Cleveland Plain Dealer

“American Rust has been described as recalling the Depression-era novels of John Steinbeck...a distinctive story full of a sorrowful hope graced by a profound respect for struggle and the unrelenting courage necessary to carry on.”
The Miami Herald and The Kansas City Star

"In Philipp Meyer a new American master is born. American Rust is a beautiful, bleak, and ultimately redemptive masterpiece. The best book to come out of America since The Road."
—Chris Cleave, author of The Little Bee

"impeccable, even prescient timing ... startling and recognizable insight ... a talent of great promise."
The Austin Chronicle

“In contemporary fiction, Meyer…most resembles Andre Dubus, Dennis Lehane or Richard Price.”
The Dallas Morning News

“With the recent passing of John Updike and the loss of Kurt Vonnegut last year, the American literary landscape is faced with a gaping void… fortunately for us, as readers, there are occasional reasons to hope. Philipp Meyer's debut novel, "American Rust," is one of those reasons.”
Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star

“I admire his [Meyer’s] writing so much….The same way, frankly, that I do Hemingway. He ought to win the Pulitzer.”
— Patricia Cornwell

“[A] ruthless and powerful book….” (five star review) 
Time Out New York

"an engrossing drama..."
Marie Claire

"Meyer builds his characters so strongly and so realistically that they are characters who stay with readers long after they finish this compelling novel."
Binghampton Press & Sun Bulletin

“Already drawing comparisons to Hemingway and Cormac McCarthy, Philipp Meyer paints a dark and timely vision of small-town life in his ambitious debut novel, American Rust….combines the muscular pleasures of a Dennis Lehane thriller with a far-reaching meditation about where we’re headed as a country.”
The Daily Beast

"As Steinbeck's Grapes of Wrath charted the plight of American families during the 1930's Great Depression, American Rust may well be the seminal work for the current one."
Otago Daily Times New Zealand

“a brilliantly realized story…Philipp Meyer is a fine writer and he has nailed [it].”
The Morning News, Robert Birnbaum

“Meyer has a thrilling eye for failed dreams and writes uncommonly tense scenes of violence . . . Fans of Cormac McCarthy or Dennis Lehane will find in Meyer an author worth watching.”
Publishers Weekly

"Meyer's greatest strength as a novelist lies in his poignantly well-rounded characters…strongly recommended for all…fiction collections."
Library Journal

"Meyer does a terrific job capturing the tone and ethos of his setting…the alternating narrators are compellingly drawn…a grimly powerful hybrid: provocative literary fiction crossed with a propulsive thriller."

"a great read...has the feel of a true classic...highly recommended."
Monsters & Critics


Praise for The Son

"The Son" makes a viable claim to be a Great American Novel of the sort John Dos Passos and Frank Norris once produced…Meyer has given us an extraordinary orchestration of American history…"
—Ron Charles, The Washington Post

“a work of extraordinary narrative power…remarkable and beautifully wrought.”                                                                                           —The Guardian, UK

“On a par with that classic of the genre, Cormac McCarthy’s Blood Meridian.”                                                                                         —The Telegraph, UK

"The Son" isn't just one of the most exciting Texas novels in years, it's one of the most solid, unsparing pieces of American historical fiction to come out this century."
—Michael Schaub, National Public Radio

"A masterpiece."                                                                                —Het Parool, The Netherlands

"the stuff of Great American Literature. Like all destined classics, Meyer's second novel...speaks volumes about humanity..."
Publishers Weekly

"Those damned Americans. The best movies, the best music and now an author like Philipp Meyer. This epic novel…deserves a place in the list of Great American novels."                                                               —De Limburger (Netherlands)

“Meyer has written a classic.”                                                               —Southern Literary Review

"Meyer is a writer of vast ambition and talent, and he has created nothing less than an American epic."

This is the book you want to read this summer.”  

"Utterly absorbing"
Reader's Digest

“A novel that is an epic in the truest sense of the word: massive in scope, replete with transformations in fortune and fate, and drenched in the blood of war.” 
Huffington Post

“The Son is an epic, heroic, hallucinatory work of art... No one, ever, has done a novel like this…”
—Chris Cleave

"One word—stunning. The Son stands fair to hold its own in the canon of Great American Novels. A book that for once really does deserve to be called a masterpiece."
—Kate Atkinson

“A remarkable, beautifully crafted novel. Meyer tackles large movements of American history and culture yet also delivers page-turning delights of story and character.” 
—Charles Frazier

"A true American epic, full of brutal poetry and breathtaking panoramas. Meyer’s characters repeatedly bear witness to the collision of human greed, savagery, and desire with the mute and indomitable Plains landscape. Meyer is a writer of tremendous talent, compassion, and ambition—The Son is a staggering achievement.” 
—Karen Russell

“Meyer is an impressive and multitalented storyteller in the old, good sense—the kind that makes me hang on for whatever the next chapter will hold.” 
—Richard Ford

“The Son is the story of our founding mythology, of the men and women who tore a country from the wilderness and the price paid in blood by subsequent generations. An epic in the tradition of Faulkner and Melville, this is the work of a writer at the height of his power.” 
—Kevin Powers

“Philipp Meyer redrafts humanity’s oldest questions and deepest obsessions into something so raw and dazzling and brutal and real, The Son should come with its own soundtrack.” 
—Téa Obreht